How may we help you ?
Book an Appointment
  • We value your time

  • Book an Appointment
Fit-again Nehra in Delhi Ranji ODI squad

New Delhi, Feb 16 (IANS) Left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra, who has been nursing an ankle injury for long, was Saturday named in a 15-member Delhi team for the North Zone Ranji Trophy one-day tournament, starting here Feb 26. Nehra, who played 17 Tests and 72 One-Day Internationals before his left ankle injury sidelined him, had travelled with the Delhiteam and regularly bowled at the nets during the team’s successful Ranji Trophy campaign.

Nehra worked extensively with Delhi team physiotherapist Badrinath Prathi throughout the season. He gradually increased bowling workload under the bowling coach Manoj Prabhakar at nets while watching from the sidelines Delhi win the Ranji title after 16 years.

“Nehra’s case was challenging for me because it was post operative rehabilitation, and also he came to me at a later stage. Things improved slowly, though it delayed his recovery,” Badrinath told IANS.

“Nehra spent on an average 2-3 hours daily for rehab and then another couple of hours for training.”

Badrinath lauded 28-year-old Nehra’s sincerity during the recovery period.

“He showed grit, commitment during the rehab, but I still want him to work harder. Cricket lovers would definitely see him in action in Ranji ODIs,” he said.

Seasoned batsman Mithun Manhas will lead Delhi, who will be without captain Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, who are in Australia with the Indian team, and Virat Kohli and Pradeep Sangwan who are in Kuala Lumpur playing in the under-19 WorldCup. But with in-form batsman Aakash Chopra, Shikhar Dhawan and all-rounder Rajat Bhatia around, Delhi can still be a force to reckon with in a tournament in which Punjab, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Services are the other competing teams.

The players have been asked to report to coach Vijay Dahiya for practice, starting at the Ferozeshah Kotla Monday.

Team: Mithun Manhas (captain), Aakash Chopra, Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Tehlan, Aditya Jain, Rajat Bhatia, Gaurav Chhabra, Sumit Narwal, Chetanya Nanda, Ashish Nehra, Punit Bisht, Amit Bhandari, Manan Sharma, Suhail Sharma and Parvinder Awana

Stand-byes: N.S. Negi, Kuldeep Rawat, Yogesh Nagar, A. Chandela, Pardeep Chawla and Anuj Kumar

Coach: Vijay Dahiya. Manager: S.S. Sareen

Thaindian News